Hi Art, I do not know what they are charging is in line with prevailing market rates. However, I think it will be hard to get a good ROI on your investment.
Lets say your average project is a $1,500 job. To generate revenue equal to $4,500. You would need to do 3 projects. However, once you include your time as an expense, my guess is that you would need to get 6 project to break even.
Well, you would be getting around 50,000 ad impressions (maybe – assumes everyone reads the full paper and doesn’t just skim or look at the front page) to a general audience. The people reading your the journal are not specifically looking for your service. If you got 1/20% response rate (people calling or emailing), I think that would be good. That would be 25 people. Most people will be early in the process and not read to proceed with the purchase. So, I think you might get 10% of to eventually move forward with a purchase. That would be 3 sales.
The numbers that I just put in are guesswork, however, this is the thinking that you should do.