In this guide you’ll learn all the details you need to know to get your license and become a real estate agent in Arkansas.
You’ll learn the basic real estate licensing requirements in Arkansas, information about the exam including pass rates and test prep, reciprocity rules, county by county breakdowns of the most expensive real estate in Arkansas, and more.
Okay, grab a cup of coffee, and let’s start at the beginning.
Basic Arkansas Real Estate Licensing Requirements
Getting a real estate license in Arkansas is rather easy compared to other states. You only need a total of 60 classroom hours of commission-approved pre-licensing courses. In comparison, to get a license in Texas, real estate licenses require applicants to complete 180 hours of courses. Here’s a quick breakdown of the real estate licensing requirements in Arkansas:
Pre-licensing Courses Required in Arkansas
In order to get a real estate license in Arkansas, you will need to complete 60 hours of real estate pre-licensing courses that will cover:
- The Real Estate Business
- License Law and Qualifications for Licensure
- License Law and Commission Rules
- Authorized Relationships, Duties, and Disclosure
- Real Estate Brokerage Activities and Procedures
- Violations of License Law, Penalties, and Procedures
- Federal and State Laws Pertaining to Real Estate
- Property Rights: Estates and Tenancies, Condominiums, Cooperatives, and Time Sharing
- Title, Deeds, and Ownership Restrictions
- Legal Descriptions
- Real Estate Contracts
- Residential Mortgages
- Types of Mortgages and Sources of Financing
- Computations and Closing of Transactions
- The Real Estate Market and Analysis
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Real Estate Investments and Business Opportunity Brokerage
- Taxes Affecting Real Estate
- Planning, Zoning, and Environmental Hazard
Arkansas Real Estate Exam Information
If you work hard and take the courses seriously you should have no problem passing the exam. If you’re looking for help studying for the test, we recommend Real Estate Exam Scholar’s Exam prep course. They offer top-notch exam prep for an affordable price. Even better, they also offer a money back guarantee if you don’t pass on the first try.
Arkansas Pre-Licensing Exam Questions
- Total of 110 multiple-choice questions (to be completed within 4 hours)
- 80 questions on the national portion
- 30 questions on the state-specific portion
What to Bring to the Exam
- 2 valid forms of identification with signatures. One ID must be a government-issued Photo ID
- Confirmation number (and exam authorization) when the test reservation was made.
- Strive to arrive 30 minutes early
You must earn a score of 70% to pass the Arkansas Real Estate Salesperson Exam
Arkansas Real Estate License Fee
Exam Fee in Arkansas (total fees)
You need to have at least a high school diploma or GED in order to apply for a license in Arkansas.
Applicants must be at least 18 of age or older
Any U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien can apply.
Any active member of the Arkansas Bar who is in good standing and qualified under the real estate license law is exempt from taking the real estate sales associate prerequisite course.
Applicants who have an existing criminal record may still apply for a real estate license. It would be best if applicants were to include their criminal history along with the necessary documents related to the conviction, if any, on their application. After submitting your fingerprints, your application will be forwarded to the Division of Criminal Justice Information Systems and to the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Upon investigation, each applicant will be considered on their own merits.
On average, it will take 3-4 weeks for your application to be processed and approved.
Online Real Estate Schools in Arkansas
While taking your real estate pre-licensing course in person can be helpful, online courses are much cheaper and offer the exact same courses. Mbition – Learn Real Estate is a solid choice.
Arkansas Real Estate License Reciprocity and Portability
If you plan on working in states besides Arkansas, then you need to know the real estate license reciprocity and portability laws for Arkansas.
Reciprocity: Arkansas has mutual recognition agreements with these 16 states:
- New York
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Portability: Physical Location
To learn more about real estate license portability in Arkansas, check out our guide on real estate license reciprocity and portability here.
How to Choose the Right Real Estate Company to Work For in Arkansas
Let’s face it. Choosing the right brokerage to work for in any state isn’t easy. In order to make your choice a little bit easier, check out our in-depth guide on choosing the right real estate company to work for.
If you’re curious about which Arkansas brokerages are the most successful, check out Real Trends list of the top real estate brokerages in Arkansas for 2017 below.
|Real Estate Brokerage||Sales Volume (2016)|
|Coldwell Banker RPM||$354,658,525|
|Keller Williams Realty Little Rock||$198,207,803|
|Real Estate Brokerage||Sales Volume (2016)|
|Keller Williams Realty Fayetteville, AR||$642,711,029|
|Coldwell Banker Harris McHaney & Faucette||$636,061,499|
*Data from Real Trends Market Leaders 2017
Arkansas Counties with Highest Average Listing Price and Highest Median Sales Price 2017
Let’s face it, higher listing prices mean higher commission checks! To get a sense of which counties offer the best opportunities for big bucks in Arkansas check out this sales data from Trulia’s Arkansas home price page below (week ending June 21):