To start your real estate career in Oklahoma, you’re required to first obtain your provisional sales associate license (PSA). Then, complete post-licensing education under the supervision of your brokerage before becoming a fully licensed sales associate. You also must complete 90 initial education hours, a background check, proof of citizenship, license application, and submit a passing exam score. This step-by-step guide will navigate every Okie through the process of getting your real estate license in the Sooner State.
1. Meet the State’s Legal Requirements
The legal requirements to qualify for a real estate license in Oklahoma are typical compared to other states. You must be at least 18 years of age, possess a high school diploma or GED, and provide proof of U.S. citizenship or that you are a lawfully admitted alien. This can typically be accomplished with a copy of a birth certificate or valid passport, but other documents can be utilized for verification.
If you have a criminal record, especially a felony, it will be difficult to receive a real estate license in Oklahoma. Although certain crimes have a statute of limitations, make sure to take a look at the Oklahoma Real Estate License Code and Rules guidelines, specifically Section 13.1 of Title 21, to see if you qualify to move forward in the real estate licensing process.
Did You Know?
Oklahoma has non-resident reciprocity agreements with the following eight states: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota. This means that by following the rules and regulations, you may also qualify for an Oklahoma real estate license in addition to the license you already possess.
Also, Oklahoma is a physical state in terms of portability. It allows agents and brokers to conduct business in another state but doesn’t allow them to enter the state for the purpose of conducting real estate business. To learn more about real estate license portability in Oklahoma, check out our guide on real estate license reciprocity and portability.
2. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses
Once you meet the state’s requirements, you can start on your prelicensing courses. For $120 to $449, education can be completed in-person or through an accredited online real estate provider in Oklahoma. Each school must cover the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC)-mandated topics below:
- Property Ownership
- Land Use Controls and Regulations
- Valuation and Market Analysis
- General Principles of Agency
- Property Disclosures
- Leasing and Property Management
- Transfer of Title
- Practice of Real Estate
- Real Estate Calculations
- Laws and Rules Affecting Oklahoma Real Estate Practice
- Oklahoma Broker Relationships Act
- Disclosures and Hazards
- Trust Accounts and Trust Fund
Did You Know?
Although Oklahoma does not waive education or examination for any licensee candidates, it has adopted a point waiver system that will get you closer to obtaining an upgraded broker’s license to run your own brokerage. A broker applicant who has not completed a two-year provisional sales associate or sales associate license period may qualify with equivalent experience. Take a look at the Point Waiver Form to see if you qualify.
There are many real estate education schools to choose from, but if you’re looking to get started right away, Kevo University is a great option. With a 4.9 out of 5-star Google rating, this provider boasts a reasonably priced education in a variety of course formats.
3. Complete Fingerprinting & Background Check
Your license application will require that you submit fingerprints and pass a background check, so it’s best to schedule them as soon as you finish your prelicensing education. Fingerprints can be completed through IdentoGO for in-state or out-of-state candidates. You will be prompted to register with a service code, which is 2B7NR3, as well as pay the $60 fee directly on the website via credit or debit card.
The OREC does not have access to your report until they receive an application, so it’s important to complete these tasks simultaneously. It takes about 72 hours for IdentoGO to submit your background check to the commission.
4. Apply for Your License
While your fingerprints are being processed, you want to quickly move forward with applying for your PSA license so they can be completed at the same time. This can be done by creating an account on the OREC website, where you will be required to submit the following documents outlined in the Applicant Checklist:
- $100 fee
- Evidence of completion of your prelicensing education
- Fingerprints and background check
- Proof of citizenship
The OREC will review and approve your application within five days and will notify you via email. If you are missing any piece of documentation, they will reach out via email to gather additional documents.
5. Take the Exam
Once you’ve gotten through all the required documentation, it’s time to take your exam. The pass rate for the Oklahoma exam is about 55%, which is lower than most states. The test is administered on a computer, and your results will be displayed immediately after exam completion. If you pass, you will only be given a passing score. And if you fail, you will be given an actual score and a diagnostic breakdown of your strengths and weaknesses per category.
Fortunately, if you do not pass the exam, you can reschedule immediately, and there is no limit on the number of attempts you can take in order to pass. Although applications are valid for only one year, if you do not submit a passing score within a year, a new application and background check must be submitted to the OREC.
Items to Bring to Exam
One valid form of identification with signature and photo ID. You may choose from the following:
70% to pass the Oklahoma Real Estate Salesperson Exam
Schedule Your Exam
Once your application is approved, you will receive an automated email from the OREC. It includes your Candidate ID number to register for the exam through PSI, a national provider for state licensing exams.
To begin scheduling, you’ll be required to create an account on the PSI website, which will then allow access to the scheduling portal. You will receive a copy of the Candidate Information Bulletin for additional testing information. The fee to take the exam is $60 and can be paid directly on the website using a credit or debit card.
For extra assistance studying for your exam, we recommend Real Estate Exam Scholar for a comprehensive exam prep course. It offers top-notch exam prep for an affordable price. Even better, it also extends a money-back guarantee if you don’t pass on the first try.
6. Pick a Company to Work For
To hold an active license in Oklahoma, you must find a sponsoring brokerage to affiliate your license. Once you’ve passed your exam, you can apply for License Issuance through the Application Portal, or your brokerage can complete the Issuance for Real Estate License Form in order to activate your license with their firm.
To make your choice a little bit easier, check out our in-depth guide on choosing the right real estate company to work for. Although there are many successful brokerages in the Sooner State, below you’ll find the top five brokerages reported for 2021.
Ary Land Co
Keller Williams Realty
Brett Boone Real Estate Team
Keller Williams Realty
The Brian Woodward Team
Keller Williams Realty
(Source: Real Trends 2021)
Oklahoma Cities With Highest Median Sales Price 2021
Your commission depends directly on the price that homes are selling for in a particular area. To get a sense of which cities are bringing in the bucks in Oklahoma, check out this sales data from Towncharts.com below:
7. Start Your Real Estate Career
Now that you’ve learned how to become a real estate agent in Oklahoma, you’re ready to start your real estate journey.