There are a few hoops to jump through in order to get your Wyoming real estate license. You’re required to get fingerprints for a background check, complete 54 hours of Wyoming Real Estate Commission (WREC)-approved education, pass an exam, pick a sponsoring brokerage, acquire errors and omissions insurance, and submit an application. Read along as we guide you through the step-by-step process of becoming a real estate agent in Wyoming.
1. Meet the Legal Requirements for Your Wyoming Real Estate License
There are minimal state requirements to qualify for your Wyoming real estate license. You must be at least 18 years old and be a legal resident of the U.S.
Did you know?
Wyoming doesn’t have direct reciprocal agreements with other states. Still, you can apply for a salesperson license by submitting two fingerprint cards, completing and passing the Wyoming law course, the Salesperson II course, and the state exam for salespersons.
Also, Wyoming is a cooperative state in terms of portability. It allows out-of-state real estate agents or brokers to enter the state to conduct real estate business physically. However, for out-of-state agents to work on a real estate transaction, they must have a co-brokerage agreement with a licensee of that state. To learn more about real estate license portability in Wyoming, check out our guide on real estate license reciprocity and portability.
If you have a criminal record, you may still be able to become a real estate agent in Wyoming. The WREC will review each applicant on a case-by-case basis to determine eligibility. Offenses pertaining to the ability to practice as a broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser, or investment adviser representative or practice in securities and investing will be more difficult to obtain licensure. Review the Wyoming Legislature website for additional information.
2. Get Fingerprints & Complete Background
Before enrolling in your prelicensing education, it’s important to start the fingerprint process. Otherwise, your application will not be approved until your fingerprints have been processed. Criminal history record checks can usually be completed within two weeks, but it can take up to five or six weeks, depending on the number of applicants.
Fingerprints can be taken at any local law enforcement agency by calling for an appointment. The fingerprinting fee will vary by location. You will be required to submit two fingerprint cards that are fully rolled and have clear impressions with an accurate pattern interpretation, ridge counting, and whorl tracing.
After your fingerprints are taken, the cards must be signed by an official, placed into a manila envelope that’s at least 9×9 inches, sealed and stamped by the official who took them, and the official must also sign the stamp. All of these criteria must be met, or the fingerprints will be returned.
Along with your fingerprint cards, you must mail a letter containing your name, email, and phone number and a certified check or money order for $39 made payable to the Office of the Attorney General to the WREC. For more information, refer to the Wyoming Instructions for Fingerprint Cards.
3. Complete Required Prelicensing Courses
After you’ve submitted your fingerprint cards, you’re ready to begin your prelicensing education. Wyoming requires all applicants to complete 54 hours of coursework that is split into Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law classes. These courses can be completed in-person or at an online real estate school, with prices ranging from $380 to $695. The classes will consist of the following topics:
- Real property characteristics, legal descriptions, and property use
- Forms of ownership, transfer, and recordings of title
- Property value and appraisal
- Real estate contracts and agency
- Real estate practice
- Property disclosures and environmental issues
- Financing and settlement
- Real estate math calculations
- The real estate licensing agency’s powers
- Requirements governing the activities of licensees
- Real Estate Recovery and Education Fund
- Land description
- Landlord/tenant relationship
- Foreclosure and redemption
- Statute of frauds
- Broker’s price opinion (BPOs)
You can get started on your classwork right away at a real estate school like Steve Willoughby Seminars. It allows students to choose between in-person and online classes in a variety of formats, such as self-paced, on-demand video, and livestream. The instructors are local Wyoming real estate veterans, so they can provide insight and advice to new agents who are getting ready to start a successful real estate career.
4. Take the Wyoming Real Estate Exam
The Wyoming real estate license exam is divided into the national and state portion. You must pass both portions in order to move forward with the licensing process. The exam is administered on the computer, so you will receive your results immediately afterwards.
If you pass, you will receive a successful notification and information on how to apply for your license. If you fail, you will receive your score along with a diagnostic report that outlines your strengths and weaknesses, so you can study for your next attempt. You can reschedule the exam within 24 hours of your failed attempt.
If you failed one portion of the exam, you are only required to retake that portion. You must pass both portions within six months. Otherwise, you’ll be required to retake and pass the entire exam.
Wyoming Real Estate Exam Details
80 nationally focused questions
40 state-specific questions
Items to Bring to the Exam
2 valid forms of identification (ID) with signatures:
75% to pass the Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson Exam, with at least 60/80 on the national portion and 30/40 on the state portion
Unfortunately, WREC does not provide the average exam pass rating for Wyoming.
Schedule Your Exam
The global testing company Pearson VUE is the official administrator of the Wyoming real estate exam. To begin scheduling, you’ll be required to create an account on the Pearson VUE website, which will then allow access to the scheduling portal.
You will receive a copy of the Wyoming Candidate Handbook with additional testing information. You can pay the $160 exam fee ($80 for the national portion and $80 for the state portion) directly through the Pearson website using a credit card, debit card, electronic check, or voucher. You can also choose to take the exam from home for $180 or $90 for each portion.
It’s important to feel confident when you walk into test day. PrepAgent has tools that can prepare agents to ace their exam on the first attempt. Use video, audio, and live webinar formats to review state and national-focused materials. In addition, it has flashcards, vocabulary worksheets, and e-books that you can use in preparation for your real estate career.
For extra guidance on passing your real estate exam, download our Exam Prep e-book. We include a pre-assessment to test your knowledge as well as helpful information about what’s included in the exam, the length and structure of the exam, study tips, and sample questions from PrepAgent.
5. Pick a Sponsoring Brokerage to Work For
In order to hold an active license in Wyoming, you must find a sponsoring brokerage to affiliate your license. Your sponsoring broker must complete, sign, and notarize page 4 of your Wyoming real estate license application.
To make your choice a little bit easier, check out our in-depth article explaining how to choose a real estate company to work for. Although there are many successful brokerages, below you’ll find some of the top brokerages in the Equality State.
Jackson Hole Sotheby's International Realty
Graham-Faupel-Mendenhall & Associates
Jackson Hole Real Estate Associates
The McPeak Group
Jackson Hole Sotheby's International Realty
Lisa Burridge & Associates Real Estate
Lisa Burridge & Associates Real Estate
Kessner, King, Dearcorn & Rader
ERA Carroll Realty Co., Inc.
(Source: Real Trends)
6. Acquire Errors & Omissions Insurance
To have an active license, all real estate professionals in Wyoming are required to have errors and omissions insurance (E&O). This is used to protect real estate businesses from mistakes made during professional service. The WREC works closely with Rice Insurance Services, LLC to provide affordable options, or you can choose your own provider and submit the Real Estate Licensee’s Equivalent Coverage Certificate Form.
For more information on the regulations surrounding E&O insurance in Wyoming, read through the E&O Fact Sheet.
7. Apply for Your Wyoming License
Once you’ve acquired E&O insurance, you’re ready to submit your real estate license. You must submit your application within 90 days of passing both portions of your Wyoming real estate exam. There are a number of items that must be included with your Wyoming application, which include:
- $300 fee via check made payable to WREC or credit card using the Credit Card Authorization Form
- Two fingerprint cards and $39 fee (this should have been done in advance—see Step 2)
- Recent close-up photograph (no sunglasses)
- Certificate of completion for Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law coursework
- Passing state and national examination score report
- Proof of legal presence (can be a birth certificate and driver’s license or passport)
- Proof of errors and omissions insurance
- Service of Process Form (for non-resident applicants only)
8. Start Your Real Estate Career
Now that you’ve learned how to become a real estate agent in Wyoming, you’re ready to start your professional real estate journey. For more information, here are some of our articles with content that is perfect for new real estate agents:
- Our article with 14 real estate agent tips covers the basics that every agent should know when they are starting out, including how to write a real estate business plan.
- Learn how to generate real estate buyer leads.
- Get nine strategies to help with real estate seller lead generation.
- Jump-start your career with the top 25 new real estate agent tips from the pros.
- Get the tools you need to build a strong real estate business out of the gate using the best real estate software and tools.